Police Department

Mt. Vernon Police Department
Address: Franklin County Law Enforcement Center
208 South Highway 37
Mt. Vernon Texas
Voice: 903-537-4539
Fax: 903-537-2632

Mission Statement
The primary goal of the Mount Vernon Police Department is to provide for the security of persons and property within the community.  This is accomplished through providing professional police services dedicated to the protection of life and property, suppression of crime, apprehension of offenders, service to its citizens and through public knowledge and confidence that professional and capable assistance is immediately available at all times.

Chief Ricky Jones

Leah Thomas 

Jason Knox

Christopher Rhoades

             Hunter Lawrence               

          Sheniece Hall             

           Michael Redar             

 Barnaby Resendiz


Patrol Units:
Chevrolet Tahoe Unit 2014 Chevrolet Tahoe Unit 2015

Chevrolet Tahoe Unit 2017                  2 Chevrolet Tahoe Unit 2018

Chevrolet Tahoe Unit 2020                              Ford Explorer Unit 2016

About Us:
Our exceptional department is made up of Six full time City of Mt. Vernon employed, TCLEOSE Certified, Texas Peace Officer. We provide 24 hours a day 7 days a week services to the citizens and general public with in the City of Mt. Vernon. Our department extends also to the public of Franklin County due to Sheriff Ricky Jones also being the Sheriff of Franklin County. This unique situation allows additional manpower and resources provided by Investigators, Deputies, Dispatchers, Correction Officers and Secretaries. A centralized office and jail combined with the capable staff provide a great environment for all Law Enforcement to concentrate law enforcement efforts in attempting to seek voluntary compliance by the general public.

 Links: http:
Texas Peace officer Memorial

 Texas Sex Offender Registration Program 

National Center for Missing or Exploited Children

 MT. Vernon ISD